{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Divisions of Unicellular Algae

Divisions of Unicellular Algae - Divisions of Unicellular...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Divisions of Unicellular Algae Five divisions of unicellular algae are considered in microbiology because of their microscopic form  and their unicellular characteristic. These organisms are classified in the kingdom Protista. Division Chlorophyta.  Algae of the division  Chlorophyta  possess green chlorophyll pigments and  carotenoid pigments. A representative member is  Chlamydomonas , which is often used in research  and as a laboratory specimen.  Chlamydomonas  produces  zoospores , which are flagellated.  Organisms such as  Chlamydomonas  are believed to be evolutionary ancestors of other species.  Other organisms in the division are  Volvox  and  Spirogyra Division Charophyta.  Members of the division  Charophyta  are  stoneworts.  Stoneworts cover the  bottoms of ponds and may be a source of limestone.  Division Euglenophyta.  Members of the division  Euglenophyta  include the common organism 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online