{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Prokaryotes and eukaryotes

Prokaryotes and eukaryotes - classification The first of...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Prokaryotes and eukaryotes. Because of their characteristics, microorganisms join all  other living organisms in two major groups of organisms: prokaryotes and eukaryotes.  Bacteria are prokaryotes (simple organisms having no nucleus or organelles) because  of their cellular properties, while other microorganisms such as fungi, protozoa, and  unicellular algae are eukaryotes (more complex organisms whose cells have a nucleus  and organelles). Viruses are neither prokaryotes nor eukaryotes because of their  simplicity and unique characteristics.  The five kingdoms. The generally accepted classification of living things was devised by  Robert Whittaker of Cornell University in 1969. Whittaker suggested a five-kingdom 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: classification. The first of the five kingdoms is Monera (in some books, Prokaryotae). Prokaryotes, such as bacteria and cyanobacteria (formerly, blue-green algae), are in this kingdom; the second kingdom, Protista, includes protozoa, unicellular algae, and slime molds, all of which are eukaryotes and single-celled; in the third kingdom, Fungi, are the molds, mushrooms, and yeasts. These organisms are eukaryotes that absorb simple nutrients from the soil (Figure 1 ). The remaining two kingdoms are Plantae (plants) and Animalia (animals)....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online