Meristematic Tissues

Meristematic Tissues - A plant has four kinds of meristems...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Meristematic Tissues Meristematic tissues, or simply  meristems , are tissues in which the cells remain forever young and  divide actively throughout the life of the plant. When a meristematic cell divides in two, the new cell  that remains in the meristem is called an  initial , the other the  derivative . As new cells are added by  repeated  mitotic divisions  of the  initial cells, the derivatives are pushed farther away from the zone  of active division. They stretch, enlarge and  differentiate  into other types of tissues as they mature.  Meristematic cells are generally small and cuboidal with large nuclei, small vacuoles, and thin walls. 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: A plant has four kinds of meristems: the apical meristem and three kinds of lateral— vascular cambium , cork cambium , and intercalary meristem . Apical meristems These are located at opposite ends of the plant axis in the tips of roots and shoots. Cell divisions and subsequent cellular enlargement in these areas lengthen the above and below ground parts of the plant. The meristems also influence the shapes of the mature plants since the patterns for subsequent growth are laid down in the meristems....
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 11/14/2011 for the course BIO 1421 taught by Professor Farr during the Fall '08 term at Texas State.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online