Overview of Eukaryote Photosynthesis

Overview of Eukaryote Photosynthesis - thylakoid membranes...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Overview of Eukaryote Photosynthesis Photosynthesis in  plants  and  algae  takes place in  chloroplasts  and entails  two steps 1. Energy transferring (energy-transduction) reactions  (commonly called the  light- dependent or light reactions)  2. Carbon fixation reactions  (sometimes inappropriately called the dark reactions)  Step one: Energy transfer The energy transferring reactions are photochemical processes that take place in two physically  separate but chemically linked  photosystems:   Photosystem I (PsI)  and  Photosystem II (PsII) Photosystems are pigment molecules that capture energy from the sun and are arranged in the 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: thylakoid membranes of the chloroplasts. The chlorophyll and other pigments of both photosystems absorb light energy, most of which is stored temporarily in energy-rich chemical bonds of ATP (adenosine triphosphate) and the electron carrier NADPH (reduced nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide phosphate). ATP and NADPH supply the energy for the resultant carbon fixation reactions of step two. Oxygen (O 2 ) is a by-product of water molecules splitting in the initial energy exchanges of step one. The three products of the energy transfer phase are ATP, NADPH, and O 2 ....
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 11/14/2011 for the course BIO 1421 taught by Professor Farr during the Fall '08 term at Texas State.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online