Ecosystem Functions

Ecosystem Functions - Ecosystem Functions

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ecosystem Functions Three levels of organisms regulate the flow of energy in ecosystems: the  producers , the  consumers , and the  decomposers . They are organized in complex  food webs Autotrophs plants, algae, and some bacteria—are the  primary producers  of an ecosystem.  Heterotrophs animals, fungi, most protists and bacteria, and a few non-green plants—are the  consumers  in  ecosystems. They obtain their energy and carbon from the organic material produced by the  autotrophs. Four  trophic  (feeding) levels are recognized: The primary producers constitute the first  level, followed by three levels of consumers.  Primary consumers  are the  herbivores  (plant eaters)  that feed directly on the primary producers. The next level includes flesh-eaters, the  primary  carnivores  that consume the herbivores. The top or fourth level is that of the  secondary carnivores 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 11/14/2011 for the course BIO 1421 taught by Professor Farr during the Fall '08 term at Texas State.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online