Measurement Scales

Measurement Scales - Measurement Scales Different...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Measurement Scales Different measurement scales allow for different levels of exactness, depending upon the characteristics of the variables being measured. The four types of scales available in statistical analysis are • Nominal : A scale that measures data by name only. For example, religious affiliation (measured as Christian, Jewish, Muslim, and so forth), political affiliation (measured as Democratic, Republican, Libertarian, and so forth), or style of automobile (measured as sedan, sports car, SUV, and so forth). • Ordinal : A scale that measures by rank order only. Other than rough order, no precise measurement is possible. For example, medical condition (measured as satisfactory, fair, poor, guarded, serious, and critical); socioeconomic status (measured as lower class, lower-middle class, middle class, upper-middle class, upper class); or military...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 11/15/2011 for the course QMST 2333 taught by Professor Mendez during the Fall '08 term at Texas State.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online