Non - probability of getting a head on the second flip? Are...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Non-Mutually-Exclusive Outcomes For the addition rule to apply, the events must be mutually exclusive. Now consider the following  example. Example 1 What is the probability of the outcome of at least one head in two coin flips? Should you add the two probabilities as in the preceding examples? In the first example, you added  the probability of getting a head and the probability of getting a tail because those two events were  mutually exclusive in one flip. In the second example, the probability of getting a spade was added to  the probability of getting a club because those two outcomes were mutually exclusive in one draw.  Now when you have two flips, should you add the probability of getting a head on the first flip to the 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: probability of getting a head on the second flip? Are these two events mutually exclusive? Of course, they are not mutually exclusive. You can get an outcome of a head on one flip and a head on the second flip. So, because they are not mutually exclusive, you cannot use the addition rule. If you did use the addition rule, you would get or certainty, which is absurd. There is no certainty of getting at least one head on two flips. (Try it several times, and see that there is a possibility of getting two tails and no heads.)...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 11/15/2011 for the course QMST 2333 taught by Professor Mendez during the Fall '08 term at Texas State.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online