Federal police agencies

Federal police agencies - Federalpoliceagencies

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Federal police agencies Federal law enforcement agencies are part of the executive branch of the national government. The  major federal law enforcement agencies are  The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI):  This Department of Justice (DOJ)  agency investigates over 200 categories of federal crimes. The FBI emphasizes protecting  the nation from terrorism, organized crime (which includes narcotics trafficking), white-collar  crimes, civil-rights crimes, and violent crimes (such as bank robbery and kidnapping). It  assists other federal, state, and local agencies through its crime statistics, crime lab,  fingerprint files, and training academy. As organized crime has become a bigger business,  the FBI has gained additional authority (including wiretapping authority) to combat it.  The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms (ATF):  This Treasury Department  agency investigates the criminal use of explosives and firearms. ATF also pursues outlaw 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 11/18/2011 for the course CJ 101 taught by Professor Staff during the Fall '09 term at Texas State.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online