Stages of Piagetian Development

Stages of Piagetian - operations such as conservation classification seriation and temporal relationships 1 conservation realization that changing

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Stages of Piagetian Development a) Sensorimotor - ages 0-2. Stage is marked by infant's increasing ability to organize and coordinate sensations and perceptions with their actions. 1. Object Permanence - most significant accomplishment during this stage - approx. 8 months old, infant acquires the ability to understand that objects that are out of sight still exist. b) Preoperational - ages 2-7. During this stage mental reasoning begins, egocentrism reduces as child approaches end of stage, magical belief system disappears, etc. 1. Egocentrism - infant is only able to perceive the world from their own point of view. c) Concrete operational - ages 7-12. child develops the ability to perform complex intellectual
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: operations such as conservation, classification, seriation, and temporal relationships. 1. conservation- realization that changing the form of an object/substance does not change it's amount. 2. classification- ability to group items according to identifying characteristics (cats & dogs). 3. seriation- putting items in order according to size. 4. temporal relations- concept of first, second, last, before, after, etc. d) Formal operational- ages 11-15. period when the person learns hypothetical reasoning. Now they can function purely on a symbolic, abstract level....
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 11/18/2011 for the course PSYCHOLOGY ps 101 taught by Professor - during the Spring '10 term at Montgomery.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online