Foods - Religions and Foods Religions Brent Petersen Topics...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Religions and Foods Religions Brent Petersen Topics Topics When it comes to religion and foods When certain religions have strict dietary guidelines to abide by guidelines Islam- Has To eat food that is not Haram Judaism- A person must eat only Kosher person food food Jain- In this religion A person cannot eat In any formally living being or a being that could feel pain could Judaism Judaism There are strict dietary guidelines in the There Judaism belief, Jews are suppose to eat only a certain type of food, which is called Kosher In this day in age in a recent study it stated that only 17% Jewish families only eat Kosher meat all the time Kosher Kosher Company Symbols Kosher The top symbol The stands for Beis Din of Crown Heights Vaad Hakashrus (which is Hakashrus the company) the The Bottom symbol The stands for Blue Ribbon Kosher Ribbon Seven Rules to Follow Seven 1) Some animals cannot be eaten at all, but it Some 2) 3) 4) 5) also includes, flesh, organs, eggs and milk of the forbidden animals the Birds and Mammals must be killed in Birds accordance with Jewish law accordance All blood must be drained or broiled out before All eaten eaten Certain parts of permitted animals cannot be Certain eaten eaten Meat (the flesh of birds and mammals) cannot Meat be eaten with dairy. Fish, eggs, fruits, vegetables and grains can be eaten with either meat or dairy. (According to some views, fish may not be eaten with meat). Seven Rules continued Seven 6) Utensils that have come into contact with meat may not be used with dairy, and vice versa. Utensils that have come into contact with non-kosher food may not be used with kosher food. This applies only where the contact occurred while the food was hot 7) Grape products made by non-Jews may not be eaten Food That Cannot Be Eaten Food Cannot eat animals that died by naturally Cannot eat animals killed by another Cannot animal animal Blood A diseased animal Chelev a type of fat Food that cannot be eaten cont… Food Rabbit, Pig, Dog, Cat, or Horse No Birds of Prey can be eaten All Shellfish such as shrimp, lobster, and clams ect… And Crustaceans Crabs, Crayfish ect… Crabs, Prepping of the Meat Prepping Ritual slaughter is known as shechitah, Ritual and the person who performs the slaughter is called a shochet. The blade used in the slaughter can have no nicks or unevenness, and must be sharp sharp In some communities the Rabbi and the In Shochet are the same person Shochet Cooking Cooking In a kosher household people must have a In minimum of two sets of pots, pans and dishes. One for meat the other for Dairy dishes. A person cannot cook or serve meat and person fish together because it is considered unhealthy unhealthy Jain Religion Jain Very Pacifist Will not cause harm to anyone or any thing Will that can feel pain or move on its own free will will They do not eat food that has had any They possibility of having living life in it possibility Five Things Jains Cannot Eat Five Anything involving injury or death of a moving Anything animal animal Cannot eat something that may kill or injure a creature that depends on that object for survival. Example- a root in the ground Example Any intoxicants. Example- alcohol Any ExampleThings that are of no use to the body. Example- Saliva, or Urine Example Anything that causes harm to the health of a Anything animal, Vegetable, or object animal, Vegetables That Cannot Be Eaten Vegetables There are a couple of Vegetables that There people in the Jain religion cannot eat people Carrots, Radishes, tuber root… just to Carrots, name a few name All root vegetables cannot be eaten in All cannot case a small living being in on it case Food that Cannot be Eaten Food Meat because to eat it would mean to have Meat cause it harm and pain cause Non pure water-because it may have small Non organisms in it (some people in the religion apply to this) apply Roots of any vegetable Honey, (because honey is a excretion) or Eggs Honey, (because the chick could have lived) (because Alcohol * Can drink milk because it does not cause the Can animal pain animal Islam Islam Basics Basics Muslims can eat Halal food but cannot Muslims eat Haram food eat Halal: means lawful or permitted Haram: means unlawful or prohibited Haram Products Haram Pork and any by-products of it Pork any Animals not properly slaughtered or dead before Animals slaughter slaughter Animals killed in the name of anyone but ALLAH Animals (God) (God) Intoxicants; such as Alcohol Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and land Carnivorous animals without external ears Blood and blood by-products Blood Foods that contain any of the products above Questionable Products Questionable Foods that contain certain products such Foods as as Gelatin Enzymes Enzymes Emulsifiers Emulsifiers These are called Mashbooh because the These origin of these ingredients is not known origin Companies that are Halal and Haram Haram Kellog Co.Frosted Pop Tarts Type -B Gelatin (Vegetable/Beef) Investigate it is being (Vegetable/Beef) Investigate investigated to see if it follows the guidelines investigated Frank Foods QT Frosting mix Vegetable fat Frank (Shortening) HALAL you can eat this product (Shortening) HALAL you General Mills Inc. Ready-to-Spread General Frosting Vegetable fat/or Lard HARAM cannot HARAM eat this product Things in Common Things Each religion has dietary restrictions Each religion cannot eat a specific type of Each meat, a example would be pork and any by-products of it, except for Jain where you can eat no meat you In the Jain religion and in the Islamic In religion neither can have intoxicants religion Questions Questions If another country took over the country If that you were currently in, and made rules where you had to eat the food that was forbidden in your religion would you do it? forbidden If you needed nourishment and the food If available was allowed to be eaten but was not ritually slaughtered would you eat? not Works cited For Islam Works http://www.jamiaislamia.org/halalharam.htm http://www.ifanca.org/index.php http://www.ifanca.org/index.php Works Cited for Judaism ://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm http://www.kosherquest.org/html/Reliable_ http://www.kosherquest.org/html/Reliable_ Kosher_Symbols.htm Works cited for Jain Works Based on a book by Dr. Hukam Chand Based Bharill "Vegetarian Food and Jain Conduct" Conduct" http://www.jainworld.com/society/jainfood/j ainfood.htm www.jainworld.com ...
View Full Document

Ask a homework question - tutors are online