{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Wednesday, February 2, 2011 - 4 anguttara-nikaya=...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Buddhist Canons: An Overview of Buddhist Literature Three major parts/ Tripitaka (the three-fold canon) - Vinaya Pitaka - Sutra Pitaka - Abhidharma Pitaka - there are three surviving “canons” (comprising what the Buddha said) of the “Buddha’s World” (buddhavacana) - the Pali or Theravada tripitaka found in Sri lanka and South East Asia - they have a similar shape, they are shaped like long and thin volumes - other Indian canons existed, of which there exist only fragments today - According to theravada tradition, the Pali canon was committed to writing in the first century C.E. Sutra Basket: 1. the digha-nikaya= 30 “lengthy collection” suttas 2. the majjihima-nikaya = 150 “middle length collection” suttas 3. samyutta-nikaya= “grouped collection” of short suttas grouped according to subject matter
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: 4. anguttara-nikaya= “numbered collection” of short suttas grouped according to number instead of topic 5. the khuddaka-nikaya= a collection of little texts (including the Jataka tales - stories about the former life of the Buddha) The Vinaya Pitaka Three Baskets: 1. Suttavibhanga (exposition of monastic rules) • Bhikkuvibhanga (rules for monks): Patimokkha • Bhikkhunivibhanga (rules for nuns) 2. Khandhakas (sections on ordinations and various aspects of monastic life) 3. Parivara (summaries) Jatakas and Avandanas - Karma - Morals and Virtues - Historical Value: Folklore/ Social and Cultural History - all the stories show the Buddha working towards great virtues - they say how to act, but also how the Buddha became a perfected person...
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online