{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Congressional Reconstruction

Congressional Reconstruction - (March1867)...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Congressional Reconstruction.   The  First Reconstruction Act  (March 1867) invalidated the state governments established under  Johnson's policies (except the government of Tennessee, which had ratified the Fourteenth  Amendment) and divided the former Confederacy into five military districts. State conventions,  elected by universal male suffrage, were to draw up new constitutions, which had to give blacks the  right to vote and had to be approved by Congress. In fact, African Americans took part in all the  conventions and made up the majority of delegates in South Carolina. Finally, each state legislature  had to ratify the Fourteenth Amendment. The Reconstruction Act was refined by subsequent  legislation. In June 1868, Congress determined that Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online