Cabinet departments

Cabinet departments - Independent agencies are often...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Cabinet departments The  cabinet departments,  the largest administrative units in the federal bureaucracy,  have responsibility for broad areas of government operations such as foreign policy  (Department of State) and law enforcement (Department of Justice). The departments  are organized hierarchically and include bureaus, divisions, offices, and agencies. The  FBI, for example, is a bureau of the Justice Department and has 58 field offices  throughout the country.  Independent agencies Independent agencies  are created by Congress and do not operate within the cabinet  structure. The most important agencies include the CIA, the National Aeronautics and  Space Administration (NASA), and the Small Business Administration (SBA). 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Independent agencies are often created by presidential direction; President John F. Kennedy's Peace Corps is an example. Regulatory commissions are also independent of cabinet departments. Many are run by boards whose members are appointed by the president for limited terms and confirmed by the Senate. They deal with a broad range of issues ranging from product safety to the licensing of nuclear power plants, and include such agencies as the Federal Communications Commission (FCC), the Federal Trade Commission (FTC), the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), the Federal Reserve Board, and the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)....
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 11/20/2011 for the course POSI 1310 taught by Professor Arnold during the Spring '08 term at Texas State.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online