The Federal Court System

The Federal Court System - crimes as mail fraud...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The Federal Court System With the exception of the Supreme Court, the Constitution left the organization of the federal court  system up to Congress. Congress accomplished this task through the Judiciary Act of 1789, which  created the three federal court levels: the district courts, the courts of appeal, and the Supreme  Court. In addition, legislative and special courts deal with specific types of cases involving narrow  legal issues.  District courts The 94 federal district courts function as both trial and appellate courts. These courts are assigned  specific geographic areas in the nation. As a trial court, they have jurisdiction over such federal 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: crimes as mail fraud, counterfeiting, smuggling, and bank robbery. Federal civil cases may involve water rights, interstate commerce, and environmental controversies. About half of the cases tried in district courts are decided by juries. District courts also serve as the first federal courts to hear state cases involving constitutional questions. The case of Gideon v. Wainright (1963), in which the Supreme Court ruled that even a poor defendant has the right to an attorney, began when Clarence Gideon appealed his conviction in a superior court trial....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online