The Two Houses of Congress

The Two Houses of Congress - The Two Houses of Congress...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The Two Houses of Congress Congress is divided into two chambers, the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Senate is  sometimes called the upper chamber and the House the lower chamber because the Founders  thought that different sorts of people would be elected to these two bodies. House members face  elections every two years in smaller districts, so the Founders thought that representatives would be  closer to the people. In contrast, Senators were originally chosen by state legislatures, and with  elections every six years and steeper eligibility requirements, the Founders believed that the Senate  would serve as a voice for the nation's wealthy and established interests.  To a certain extent, the Founders correctly predicted differences between the two chambers. The  Senate is more deliberative, with strict rules to encourage debate, and it follows decorous norms of 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online