Wk2DQ1 - reticular formation and the medulla These regions...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The cerebral cortex is divided into two halves; these halves are called cerebral hemispheres. Each of these hemispheres contains four lobes. These four lobes are called; the frontal lobe, parietal lobe, temporal lobe, and the occipital lobe. These lobes over see all forms of conscious experience, which includes perception, emotion, thought, and planning, as well as many unconscious cognitive and emotional process. The central core has five main regions; these regions are the thalamus, pons, cerebellum,
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: reticular formation, and the medulla. These regions help with regulating the basic life processes, such as breathing, pulse, arousal, movement balance, sleep, and the early stage of processing sensory information. These are relevant in Psychology because for one the Cerebral Cortex is involved in a variety of higher cognitive, emotional, sensory, and motor functions. Psychology is a major part of studying ones brain functions and the hows and whys people act or do things....
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 11/21/2011 for the course PSY 201 201 taught by Professor Peters during the Spring '11 term at University of Phoenix.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online