Cognitive Development

Cognitive Development - Cognitive Development Age 0–6...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Cognitive Development: Age 0–6 During Piaget's sensorimotor stage (birth to age 2), infants and toddlers learn by doing: looking, hearing, touching, grasping, sucking. The process appears to begin with primitive “thinking” that involves coordinating movements of the body with incoming sensory data. As infants intentionally attempt to interact with the environment, they learn that certain actions lead to specific consequences. This is the beginning of the infants' understanding of cause-and-effect relationships. Piaget referred to the cognitive development occurring between ages 2 and 7 as the preoperational stage . In this stage, children increase their use of language and other symbols, imitation of adult behaviors, and play. Young children develop a fascination with words—both “good” and “bad.” They also play “pretend” games. Piaget also described this stage in terms of what children cannot do. He also play “pretend” games....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online