{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Introductio2 - The larynx consists of four basic anatomic...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Introduction The larynx (plural larynges), colloquially known as the voice box, is an organ in the neck of involved in protection of the trachea and sound production. The larynx houses the vocal folds, and is situated just below where the tract of the pharynx splits into the trachea and the oesophagus. The pharynx is the part of the neck and throat situated immediately posterior to (behind) the mouth and nasal cavity, and cranial, or superior, to the oesophagus, larynx, and trachea. It is part of the digestive system and respiratory system and both food and air pass through the pharynx. To prevent choking or aspiration when food is swallowed a flap of connective tissue called the epiglottis closes over the trachea. The pharynx can be divided into three regions: The nasopharynx The oropharynx The laryngopharynx The larynx Gross Anatomy of the Larynx
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Background image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: The larynx consists of four basic anatomic components: a cartilaginous skeleton, intrinsic and extrinsic muscles, and a mucosal lining. The cartilaginous skeleton, which houses the vocal cords, is comprised of the thyroid, cricoid, and arytenoid cartilages. These cartilages are connected to other structures of the head and neck through the extrinsic muscles. The intrinsic muscles of the larynx alter the position, shape and tension of the vocal folds. The Laryngeal Skeleton • The laryngeal skeleton is comprised of nine cartilaginous structures. • It is easiest to talk about the cartilages of the larynx as major/unpaired and minor/paired structures. • The major/unpaired cartilages are the thyroid, epiglottis and cricoid cartilages. • The minor/paired cartilages are the arytenoid, corniculate and cuneiform cartilages....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Page1 / 2

Introductio2 - The larynx consists of four basic anatomic...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon bookmark
Ask a homework question - tutors are online