The Seven Against Thebes

The Seven Against Thebes -...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The Seven Against Thebes Part of a tetralogy based on the Theban cycle of legends that was first performed at the dramatic  festival of 467 B.C. and won first prize. The other tragedies in the tetralogy were entitled  Laius  and  Oedipus,  the satyr-play was  The Sphinx. The Seven Against Thebes  tells the story of the civil war  between Eteocles and Polyneices, the sons of Oedipus, after their father's death. This same story is  told in  The Phoenissae  of Euripides. Three plays by Sophocles,  King Oedipus, Oedipus at Colonus,  and  Antigone,  as well as other plays by Euripides, are based on incidents in the same cycle of  legends, for it was one of the most popular in ancient times. Prometheus Bound First performed  ca.  465 B.C., part of a trilogy that also included  Prometheus the Fire-Bringer  and  Prometheus Unbound.  This tragedy is based on the legend about the conflict between Zeus and the 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online