A comment on the Border Trilogy

A comment on the Border Trilogy - A comment on the Border...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: A comment on the Border Trilogy. The books of Cormac McCarthy's Border Trilogy, in order of publication, are All the Pretty Horses , The Crossing , and Cities of the Plain . But the books are not a story in sequence and are not sequential even in theme. Rather, they are three pieces of a large puzzle, a picture of the American Southwest, specifically an area of the border with Mexico that runs from Laredo, Texas, to Tucson, Arizona. McCarthy is presenting a picture of that vast desert, grassland, and mountain region where the last of the pioneers settled. The three books can be read in any order because each enhances the story and expands upon the themes of the others. The Crossing is in many ways parallel to All the Pretty Horses . The main character in The Crossing , Billy Parham, goes to Mexico the first time alone, to take a pregnant,...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 11/23/2011 for the course ENG 101 taught by Professor Staff during the Fall '08 term at Texas State.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online