Mature verse colors H

Mature verse colors H -...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Mature verse colors H. D.'s collections: the life-affirming meditations in Hymen (1921), Heliodora and  Other Poems (1924), and Collected Poems of H. D. (1925), the beginning of the poet's critical and  popular success and literary independence. Subsequent publications display self-confidence and  growing feminism: an experimental autobiography, HERmione (1927), a verse tragedy dramatically  entitled Hippolytus Temporizes: A Play in Three Acts (1927), Red Roses for Bronze (1932), and a  translation of Euripides's tragedy Ion (1937). Following Collected Poems (1940), she issued a pro- matriarchal trilogy — The Walls Do Not Fall (1944), Tribute to the Angels (1945), and Flowering of the  Rod (1946) — and her last verse collection, Helen in Egypt (1961), an examination of necromancy  through blended prose and epic poetry. In addition to submissions to Life and Letters Today, H. D. flourished in long fiction, including an 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 11/23/2011 for the course ENG 101 taught by Professor Staff during the Fall '08 term at Texas State.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online