MICR 2533 Mycology - Fungi buthavecell walls...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Fungi are eukaryotic organisms that do not contain chlorophyll, but have cell walls, filamentous structures, and produce spores. These organisms grow as saprophytes and decompose dead things. There are between 100,000 to 200,000 species. About 300 species are presently known to be pathogenic for man. Medically important fungi are in four phyla. The first three phyla are “perfect fungi”, meaning they have a sexually reproductive stage. 1. Ascomycota – Members of this phylum contain sexual reproduction within a specialized cell called an ascus. The gametes formed are called ascopspores 2. Basidiomycota –Phylum for which sexual reproduction produces basidiospores, which form on the surface of a specialized cell called a basidium. 3. Zygomycota – Phyla members undergo a process where neighboring hyphae fuse then undergo meiosis (formation of gametes) to form zybospores. The fourth phylum, “imperfect fungi,” includes most pathogenic fungi. 4. Mitosporic Fungi (Fungi Imperfecti) – These fungi have no recognizable form of sexual reproduction. Mitosporic fungi form conidia, which are reproductive structures
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 11/22/2011 for the course MICR 2533 taught by Professor Shahlaabghari during the Winter '11 term at Life Chiropractic College West.

Page1 / 3

MICR 2533 Mycology - Fungi buthavecell walls...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online