End_semester_review

End_semester_review - Physics 214 Problems This document is...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–8. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
12/7/2011 Physics 214 Fall 2010 1 Physics 214 Problems This document is a set of sample problems from Chapters 2 – 19 and is intended to be a guide in preparing for the final exam Final exam Monday Dec 12 th 7 - 9pm Phys 114
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
12/7/2011 Physics 214 Fall 2010 2 Avge/instantaneous Speed/velocity Constant acceleration Gravity/Projectiles Vectors Forces Circular motion Gravitation Making a trip Quarter mile drag race Vertical with gravity Horizontal velocity is constant. Acceleration is always g down Simple force diagrams Apparent weight Horizontal circle Car around corner Ferris wheel Force between two masses Planets s = d/t v = v 0 + at x = x 0 + v 0 t + 1/2at 2 v 2 =v 0 2 + 2ax F = ma F = mv 2 /r F = Gm 1 m 2 /r 2 Gm 1 m 2 /r 2 = mv 2 /r Velocity Acceleration Force momentum
Background image of page 2
12/7/2011 Physics 214 Fall 2010 3 Energy Work Power Momentum Impulse Rotation Constant angular accn Torque Kinetic energy Angular momentum K E = 1/2mv 2 PE =mgh or 1/2kx 2 W = Fd Power = P = W/t P = mv F t = p ω = ω 0 + α t θ = ω 0 t + 1/2 α t 2 Τ = Fl = I α 1/2 I ω 2 L = I ω Conservation of energy Sled sliding down a hill Work can be negative Motors, lifting something Cons of momentum Two objects collide Two objects separate Circle = 2 π Counterclock is + Wrench Cons of ang mom Skater, changing I
Background image of page 3

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
12/7/2011 Physics 214 Fall 2010 4 P = F/A F 1 /A 1 = F 2 /A 2 1.013 10 5 Pa 76cm Hg F = PA m = ρ V w = ρ Vg P = W/A = ρ gh Pressure Hydraulic jack Atmospheric pressure Suction cup Density ρ = mass/unit volume Pressure difference Transmitted equally in all directions in a liquid Pressure reduces with altitude Maximum weight to lift PA = mg Object floats if it’s density is less than that of the liquid h is the difference in height between two points in a liquid
Background image of page 4
12/7/2011 Physics 214 Fall 2010 5 Archimedes Buoyant force Force and electric field g T mg F b T + F b = mg F b = ρ gV Buoyant force is the weight of liquid displaced The force a charge feels is qE. E is in the direction a + charge would move Voltage between two points is the change in potential energy/unit charge Toward a + charge, (against E) voltage increases
Background image of page 5

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
12/7/2011 Physics 214 Fall 2010 6 V = PE/q I = q/t R = V/I I = ε /(R circuit + R battery ) P = ε I = I 2 R = ε 2 /R P = VI = I 2 R = V 2 /R R = R 1 + R 2 + R 3 1/R = 1/R 1 +1/R 2 +1/R 3 Current, voltage, charge and resistance Circuits ε is the electromotive force or the voltage across a battery when no current is being drawn. V or V is the voltage drop between two points in a circuit with current I Series Parallel If a charge plus q goes to a lower voltage energy qV is released Ohms law Power dissipated Current is the same in all parts of the circuit Voltage drop is the same across all resistors
Background image of page 6
12/7/2011 Physics 214 Fall 2010 7 By definition the field lines enter a south pole and leave a north pole maximum force is when v is at right angles to B and the force is zero if v is parallel to B or v = 0.
Background image of page 7

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 8
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Page1 / 117

End_semester_review - Physics 214 Problems This document is...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 8. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online