{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

They began a program of apartheid

They began a program of apartheid -...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
They began a program of apartheid ("apartness," or complete segregation) for the three main non- European groups: the largest group, the Indian population (many of whom were merchants and  store-owners), the natives (known as Bantus by the government), and the coloreds (of mixed  European and native blood). These groups were to lose parliamentary representation so they would  have no political rights and no means of protesting government policy. The next step was to eliminate  racially integrated universities, schools, labor unions, and any other organizations where races might  meet, mix, discuss, and learn to understand each other. The final step was to segregate the whole  nation into white and black areas, with native reserves set up where the natives could be kept in  strict control. This policy of apartheid was called "separate development" by the government.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.
  • Fall '09
  • staff
  • African National Congress, Bantus, Native Reserves, racially integrated universities, moderate non­white groups, non­ European groups

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online