{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

The - The""'sliteraryoutput,arehis...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The "Leatherstocking Tales," although they are only a small part of Cooper's literary output, are his  main claim to recognition as a major American writer. The five books, however, were not written and  published according to the chronological age of the hero, Natty Bumppo. In terms of the hero's age,  the romances are as follows:  The Deerslayer  (1841),  The Last of the Mohicans  (1826),  The  Pathfinder  (1840),  The Pioneers  (1823), and  The Prairie  (1827). Arranged in that manner, the  "Leatherstocking Tales" are also easier to remember because they are in alphabetical order. The  nicknames of Natty Bumppo are respectively: Deerslayer, Hawkeye, Pathfinder, Leatherstocking, and  simply "The Trapper" or "The Old Man." The period covered ranges from about 1740 to 1804, and  Natty Bumppo is seen in stages from his 20s to his 80s. The settings change from Otsego Lake,  Lake George, Lake Ontario, and Cooperstown to the territories of Iowa and Missouri. If the 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}