Mitosis - Mitosis

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Mitosis There are four phases in  mitosis  (adjective, mitotic): prophase, metaphase, anaphase,  and telophase (Figure 2): During  prophase,  the nucleoli disappear, the chromatin condenses into  chromosomes, the nuclear envelope breaks down, and the mitotic spindle is  assembled. The development of the mitotic spindle begins as the  centrosomes move apart to opposite ends (poles) of the nucleus. As they  move apart, microtubules develop from each centrosome, increasing in  length by the addition of tubulin units. Microtubules from each centrosome  connect to specialized regions in the centromere  called  kinetochores.  Microtubules tug on the kinetochores, moving the  chromosomes back and forth toward one pole, then the other. Within the  spindle, there are also microtubules that overlap at the center of the spindle  and do not attach to the chromosomes. Metaphase
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Page1 / 4

Mitosis - Mitosis

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online