{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

The Legislative Branch

The Legislative Branch - creatinglaws., .Congresshasthesole...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The Legislative Branch  Congress is the legislative branch of the federal government and is responsible for  creating laws. Congress consists of two chambers, an upper chamber called the Senate  and a lower chamber called the House of Representatives. Congress has the sole  authority to make laws, levy taxes, declare war, and print money, among other powers.  Congress also controls the federal budget. The Executive Branch  The presidency is the executive branch of the federal government. The president is  elected every four years and is responsible for enforcing the laws that Congress makes.  The president is also the commander-in-chief of the armed forces and has the power to  conduct foreign relations. The Judicial Branch  The federal courts make up the judicial branch of the federal government, which  consists of regional circuit courts, appeals courts, and the Supreme Court. The 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online