The Macedonian army itself was divided into four main units

The Macedonian army itself was divided into four main units...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The Macedonian army itself was divided into four main units, each designed to  complement the others. First was the phalanx, the main body of the army, organized in  about fourteen battalions of 1,500 each, which would engage the enemy and attempt to  create a break in its line. At this point the Companion Cavalry, heavily armed men on  horses, would swoop in where breaks had been successfully created. The most elite  group was known as the Hypaspists, who formed the King's personal corps and  bodyguard. Totaling 3,000, they formed the link between the Companions and the  phalanx by protecting one side of each while attempting to further exploit any gaps  created. The less heavily armed Prodromi served as scouts, and they also protected  outside flanks to prevent any attempts to encircle the Companions.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 12/12/2011 for the course HIST 1320 taught by Professor Murphy during the Fall '08 term at Texas State.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online