The heart of Aristotle

The heart of Aristotle - TheheartofAristotle'...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The heart of Aristotle's work in natural philosophy comprises four central works:  Physics,   On the Heavens,   On Coming-to-be and Passing- away,  and  Meteorology.  Spanning eight books,  Physics,  has little to do with what we know as "physics" and is  more properly characterized as natural science. The first book modifies the traditional  understanding of first principles. Most natural philosophers had assumed that first  principles would be contraries–rare and dense, solid and void. But to this Aristotle would  add a third principle, called the substratum. Two opposites cannot act upon each other;  rather, they presuppose a substance. The substratum furnishes the substance to be  acted on by the contraries. Thus, when a given substratum undergoes a change, there  are actually three components involved. Matter consists of the substratum itself, form  consists of the change undergone, and a third element called privation is presupposed 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 12/12/2011 for the course HIST 1320 taught by Professor Murphy during the Fall '08 term at Texas State.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online