Bio Lab Wksht & HW Questions 6

Bio Lab Wksht & HW Questions 6 - 1 TAXONOMY and the...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: 1 TAXONOMY and the DIVERSITY of LIFE Introduction Until the 1960s, biologists classified all life into one of two kingdoms - plants and animals. In 1969, Robert Whittaker proposed a Five Kingdom system, adding Monera (bacteria), Protista, and Fungi to the existing Plantae and Animalia Kingdoms. Techniques for sequencing DNA and RNA molecules have led to recent molecular evidence that makes this Five Kingdom model inadequate. It is clear that at the highest level, there are three broad groups (usually designated Domains ) into which all organisms fall – the Bacteria , the Archaea , and the Eukarya (Eukaryotes). Bacteria and Archaea will largely fall outside the scope of Biology 1020. Within the Domain Eukarya, four traditional Kingdoms were recognized, Kingdom Protista, Kingdom Plantae, Kingdom Fungi, and Kindgom Animalia.. With new molecular evidence, it is clear that Kingdom-level classification will also undergo revisions. The protists for example have been split into as many as 20 kingdoms classification will also undergo revisions....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online