{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

2 - 1 If the govt loses support of the lower house often...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
1. If the govt. loses support of the lower house, often through a motion of no confidence, it must resign, hence the govt. is responsible to parliament, the parliament in turn is responsible to the people. 2. If governments are irresponsible, they must answer to the people periodically, preventing potential abuse of power. The Principle of the Separation of Powers: 1. The three branches of govt. should remain separate so that their functions & authority cannot overlap (no one body has absolute power or control over the functions of the legal system.) Three Branches: Legislative: 2. The power to make laws, which resides with the parliament. 3. Parliament makes laws by debating, considering, amending and – finally – making legislation by passing bills through both Houses, after which the bill becomes a law when it receives Royal Assent by the Crown. 4. Power is restricted by the Constitution. Executive:
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online