On December 201

On December 201 -...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
On December 20, 1860, South Carolina was the first state to secede from the Union.  Other states followed within a few months. Then, when a dispute over ownership of the  fort in Charleston harbor exploded in April 1861, the Confederate States of America  declared war on the United States of America. More states seceded from the Union and  the battles lines were drawn: Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida,  Alabama, Tennessee, Mississippi, Louisiana, Arkansas, and Texas to the South and the  other twenty-three states to the North. For the next four years, brother fought brother and father fought son, especially in the  bitterly divided border states. The Southern generals, particularly Robert E. Lee, Simon  B. Buckner, and James Longstreet among many others, quickly proved themselves far  more capable than their Northern counterparts. In fact, though the North vastly 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 12/25/2011 for the course HIST 1320 taught by Professor Murphy during the Summer '08 term at Texas State.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online