{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Declaration of Independence

Declaration of Independence - ,initiatedbyacallto , ,the

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Declaration of Independence - The Declaration of Independence, initiated by a call to  national sovereignty by Richard Henry Lee, was drafted by Jefferson in June of 1776.  Approved after a lengthy debate by the Second Continental Congress on July 4, the  Declaration was later signed by President John Hancock and fifty-five other delegates to  the congress.  Embargo Act - The Embargo Act, passed December 22, 1807, forbade all import/export  trade between the United States and foreign nations. It was a stronger re-formulation of  the existing Non-Importation Act, and was passed in response to the Berlin and Milan  Decrees of Napoleon and Parliament's Orders in Council. Because it was essentially  unenforceable, the Embargo Act was an out-and-out failure from both an economic and  political standpoint, and was repealed upon the inauguration of James Madison on  March 4, 1809. 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}