{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

FitzGerald - by the republican Fianna Fáil in 1932 The...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
FitzGerald, Garrett FitzGerald, Garrett, 1926–, Irish politician. After studying economics and law, he lectured (1959–73) in political economy at his alma mater, University College. He was first elected to the Dáil (parliament) in 1969 as a member of the Fine Gael . He was minister of foreign affairs (1973–77), then became party leader and subsequently prime minister in 1981 as a result of a coalition with the Labour party. Although defeated in early 1982, FitzGerald regained power later that year and was again prime minister from late 1982 to 1987, when election losses caused him to resign as party leader. A moderate nationalist, he was the driving force behind the Anglo- Irish Agreement of 1985. Fine Gael Fine Gael, Irish political party. Formed in 1933, it was the successor of the party founded by William Cosgrave that held power from the creation of the Irish Free State in 1922 until ousted
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: by the republican Fianna Fáil in 1932. The Fine Gael party accepted the British plan that partitioned Ireland, and has generally been less anti-British than its major opposition. Under John A. Costello, Fine Gael formed coalition governments with the Labour party from 1948 to 1951 and from 1954 to 1957. After a long period in opposition it regained power, again with the Labour party, in 1973; and William Cosgrave's son Liam Cosgrave became prime minister. Except for a brief interruption in 1982, the party held power again from 1981 to 1987, when it was led by Garret FitzGerald . From 1994 to 1997, Fine Gael once more formed a coalition government with Labour, with party leader John Bruton serving as prime minister. Michael Noonan succeeded Bruton as party leader in 2001. Noonan resigned after electoral losses in 2002 and was succeeded by Enda Kenny....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online