{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Republic of Irelan3 - English and Gaelic are the official...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Republic of Ireland Political Geography and People The republic's 26 counties are Monaghan , Cavan , and Donegal (constituting part of the historic province of Ulster); Louth , Meath , Dublin , Kildare , Wicklow , Carlow , Wexford , Kilkenny , Laoighis , Offaly , Westmeath , and Longford (comprising Leinster); Tipperary , Waterford , Cork , Kerry , Limerick , and Clare (comprising Munster); and Leitrim , Roscommon , Galway , Mayo , and Sligo (comprising Connacht). In addition to the capital, other urban areas are Limerick , Cork , Dún Laoghaire , Waterford , Galway , and Dundalk . The population is largely Celtic with a minority of English and more recent European and non- European immigrants drawn (since the 1990s) by the country's economic growth. The population is largely Roman Catholic (88%). Although there is no officially established church, the Roman Catholic church has historically played a dominant role in education in the Irish Republic.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: English and Gaelic are the official languages, with English the more widely used. Gaelic is most common in the west of the country. Government The republic is governed under the constitution of 1937. The president, who is the head of state, is popularly elected to a seven-year term and is eligible for a second term. The prime minister, who is the head of government, is appointed by the president, as is the cabinet. There is a bicameral Parliament, the Oireachtas. The House of Representatives or Dáil Éireann is the more powerful chamber. Its 166 members are elected by popular vote on the basis of proportional representation. Members of the 60-seat Senate or Śeanad Éireann are indirectly elected or appointed. All legislators serve five-year terms. Administratively, the country is divided into 26 counties....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online