These are the stages of cellular respiration

These are the stages of cellular respiration - These are...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
These are the stages of cellular respiration: a preview. Respiration occurs in three metabolic stages: glycolysis, the citric acid cycle, and the electron  transport chain and oxidative phosphorylation. Glycolysis  occurs in the cytoplasm. It begins catabolism by breaking glucose into two molecules of pyruvate. The  citric acid cycle  occurs in the mitochondrial matrix. It completes the breakdown of glucose by oxidizing a derivative of pyruvate to carbon  dioxide. Several steps in glycolysis and the citric acid cycle are redox reactions in which  dehydrogenase enzymes transfer electrons from substrates to NAD + , forming NADH. NADH passes these electrons to the electron transport chain. In the electron transport chain, the electrons move from molecule to molecule until they  combine with molecular oxygen and hydrogen ions to form water. As they are passed along the chain, the energy carried by these electrons is transformed in 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online