SporePlantsIntro213 - Spore-Dispersing Vascular Plants...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Spore-Dispersing Vascular Plants Introduction - 1 The vascular plants are divided artificially into two major groups, the seedless (or spore-dispersing) vascular plants and the seed plants. There are four major Phyla of spore-dispersing vascular plants plus three extinct phyla for which excellent fossils remain. The spore-dispersing vascular plants include the: Rhyniophyta – Extinct Zosterophyllophyta - Extinct Trimerophytophyta - Extinct Lycophyta (Lycopodiophyta) Lycopodiae Selaginellae Isoetae Monilophyta or Pteridophyta* (sometimes Pterophyta) Equisetales (Sphenophyta) Psilotales (Psilophyta) Ferns (Pterophyta) Ophioglossales – Eusporangiate Marattiales – Eusporangiate Filicales – Homosporous and Leptosporangiate Salviniales – Heterosporous and Leptosporangiate Marsileales – Heterosporous and Leptosporangiate * Traditionally, the groups now clustered into one phylum were considered to be separate phyla, with the name Pterophyta used just for the Ferns. For ease of
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This document was uploaded on 01/06/2012.

Page1 / 3

SporePlantsIntro213 - Spore-Dispersing Vascular Plants...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online