SeedPlants213-page19 - Seed-Dispersing Plants 19 Anthophyta...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Seed-Dispersing Plants - 19 Anthophyta Our first three units of Biology 213 introduced us to reproduction, development, structure and functioning of the flowering plants, which are all within the phylum, Anthophyta. The flowering plants are also known as the angiosperms, or protected seeds, because their seeds are enclosed within the ovary tissue that develops into the fruit. In contrast, the seed plants just discussed, the gymnosperms ("naked" seeds), do not enclose seeds within a protective fruits. The Anthophyta, until a few years ago were divided into two groups, the monocotyledons and dicotyledons, whose structural features were presented in earlier units. However, better genetic analysis has shown that several groups of angiosperms (generally those thought of as the "primitive dicots", have been separated into distinct groupings. To conclude our unit on plant diversity, we will briefly discuss the Anthophyte evolutionary relationships. Distinguishing
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online