6AManual11F - Biology 6A Biological Form &...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–5. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Biology 6A Biological Form & Function Lab Manual Bruce Heyer 2011 De Anza College BIOL-6A: Biological Form & Function Sections 03 & 04 Fall 2011 Week Date Day Lecture Topic Chapter Lab Topic Sep 26 Mon 01: Scientific Method Sep 27 Tue Life & Science 1 Sep 28 Wed 02: Systematics 1 Sep 29 Thu Classification Systems 26 Oct 03 Mon 03: Plants I Oct 04 Tue Life Cycles 27.1, 27.527.6; 28.1, 28.7 Oct 05 Wed 04: Plants II 2 Oct 06 Thu Plantae 35 Oct 10 Mon 05: Plants III Oct 11 Tue Plant Vasculature & Transport 36 Oct 12 Wed 06: Plants IV 3 Oct 13 Thu Gas Exchange in Animals 42 Oct 17 Mon SE-1: Gas Exchange Oct 18 Tue Circulation Oct 19 Wed 07: Fungi 4 Oct 20 Thu Exam 1 Oct 24 Mon Review for lab exam Oct 25 Tue Homeostasis & Thermoregulation 40 Oct 26 Wed Lab Exam 1 5 Oct 27 Thu Feeding & Digestion 41 Oct 31 Mon 08: Animals I Nov 01 Tue Nutrition Nov 02 Wed 09: Animals II 6 Nov 03 Thu Osmoregulation 44 Nov 07 Mon 10: Animals III Nov 08 Tue Excretion Nov 09 Wed SE-2: Osmoregulation & Excretion 7 Nov 10 Thu Coordination of Body Functions 45 Nov 14 Mon 11: Animals IV Nov 15 Tue Exam 2 Nov 16 Wed 12: Animals V 8 Nov 17 Thu Animal Senses 50 Nov 21 Mon 13: Fish Anatomy Nov 22 Tue Nov 23 Wed 14: Mammalian Anatomy 9 Nov 24 Thu Thanksgiving holiday Nov 28 Mon 15A: Vertebrate Skeletons Nov 29 Tue Locomotion & Motor Systems Nov 30 Wed 15B: Vertebrate Skeletons 10 Dec 01 Thu Dec 05 Mon Review for lab exam Dec 06 Tue Animal Reproduction 46 Dec 07 Wed Lab Exam 2 11 Dec 08 Thu Catch-up & Wrap-up Dec 12 Mon SE-3: Sensory & Motor Systems 12 Dec 15 Thu Exam 3 (11:301:30) Fall 2011 BIOL-6A: Biological Form & Function BIOLOGY006A: Lecture Tue & Thu 12:302:20 S 35 BIOLOGY006A03: CRN 00239 Lab Mon/Wed 12:303:20 SC 2108 BIOLOGY006A04: CRN 00240 Lab Mon/Wed 3:306:20 SC 2108 Course syllabus, schedule, lecture slides, and lab materials available from the course website: http://faculty.deanza.fhda.edu/heyerbruce/bio6A Required Text: Biology , 9 th ed., Campbell, N.A. & J.B. Reese; Pearson Education, 2011. Required Lab Manual: Biology 6A Lab Manual , McCauley, B. & B. Heyer; DeAnza College, 2011. download and print from the class website. Recommended Lab Supplement: A Photographic Atlas for the Biology Laboratory , 6 th ed., Van De Graaff, K & J. Crawley; Morton Publishers, 2009. Textbook supplemental website: Mastering Biology : http://www.masteringbio.com/ Optional Study Guide: Biology-Student Study Guide , 9 th ed., Campbell, N.A., et al ; Pearson Education, 2011 Email: heyerbruce @ deanza.edu Instructor: Bruce Heyer Office: SC 1212 Office Hours: MonThu, 11:3012:20 Phone: (408) 864-8933 COURSE DESCRIPTION Biology-6A is the first of three courses for serious enthusiasts of the biological sciences to present the foundations of life's processes and the methods for scientific investigation. In this first course we shall elaborate on organismal biology - the comparative structure (form) and physiology (function) of the...
View Full Document

Page1 / 171

6AManual11F - Biology 6A Biological Form &...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 5. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online