MacGamesBBSFinal

MacGamesBBSFinal - Economic Man in Cross-cultural...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
‘Economic Man’ in Cross-cultural Perspective: Behavioral Experiments in 15 Small-scale Societies Joseph Henrich, Robert Boyd, Samuel Bowles, Colin Camerer, Ernst Fehr, Herbert Gintis, Richard McElreath, Michael Alvard, Abigail Barr, Jean Ensminger, Kim Hill, Francisco Gil-White, Michael Gurven, Frank Marlowe, John Q. Patton, Natalie Smith, and David Tracer 1 This paper is a contribution to the research of both the Economics Program and the Program on Cultural and Social Dynamics at the Santa Fe Institute. It is under review at Behavioral and Brain Sciences. Keywords: Self-interest, altruism, cooperation, Ultimatum Game, Public Goods Game, cross-cultural research, experimental economics, game theory 1 Affiliations: Henrich , Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin, Wallotstrasse 19, 14193-Berlin, j.henrich@wiko-berlin.de; Boyd , Dept. of Anthropology, University of California, Los Angeles CA 90095 rboyd@anthro.ucla.edu; Bowles , Santa Fe Institute, 1399 Hyde Park Rd., Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501, bowles@santafe.edu; Camerer , Div HSS 228-77, Caltech, Pasadena CA 91125 USA, camerer@hss.caltech.edu; Fehr , Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin, Wallotstrasse 19, 14193-Berlin, wiko1ef@wiko-berlin.de; Gintis , Dept. of Economics, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01060, hgintis@mediaone.net; McElreath , University of California Davis, Dept. of Anthropology, One Shields Ave, Davis, CA, rlm@ucla.edu; Alvard , Dept. of Anthropology, 4352 TAMU, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas 77843-4352, Alvard@tamu.edu; Barr , Centre for the Study of African Economies, University of Oxford, St. Cross Building, Manor Road, Oxford OX1 3UL, abigail.barr@economics.ox.ac.uk; Hill , Dept. of Anthropology, University of New Mexico, kimhill@unm.edu; Gurven , Dept. of Anthropology, University of California-Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA 93106, gurven@anth.ucsb.edu; Patton , Dept. of Anthropology, Washington State University, Pullman, WA 99164-4910, pattonj@mail.wsu.edu; Tracer , Dept. of Anthropology &, Health & Behavioral Sciences, University of Colorado at Denver, Denver, CO 80217, dtracer@carbon.cudenver.edu; Ensminger , Div HSS 228-77, Caltech, 1200 East California Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91125-7700, jensming@hss.caltech.edu; Gil-White , Dept. of Psychology, University of Pennsylvania, 3815 Walnut Street, Philadelphia PA 19104-6196, fjgil@psych.upenn.edu; Marlowe , Dept. of Anthropology, Peabody Museum, 11 Divinity Avenue, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138, fmarlowe@fas.harvard.edu; Smith , Dept. of Anthropology, University of California Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA 90024, nathenrich@hotmail.com
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Abstracts Long Abstract Experimental behavioral scientists have found consistent deviations from the predictions of the canonical model of self-interest in over a hundred experiments from around the world. Prior research cannot determine whether this uniformity results from universal patterns of behavior, or from the limited cultural variation among the university
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Page1 / 62

MacGamesBBSFinal - Economic Man in Cross-cultural...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online