{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

BSC 2010L Critical thinking 4 - Critical Thinking 4 Cell...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Critical Thinking 4 Cell cycle is continuous events that take place in a cell, leading to its replication and division. It consists of four distinct phases: G 1 , S, G 2 and M(mitosis). Especially, the process of mitosis is composed of four phase: prophase, metaphase, anaphase, and telophase, in which the cell's chromosomes are divided to the two daughter cells that identical to parent chromosome. If somatic cells die due to the apoptosis, necrosis, or infection by bacteria, our body needs new cells to do the task of the dead cell. So here is when mitosis steps in. A similar cell gets copied to take the dead cell's place. The main functions of mitosis are growth and repair. When cell have DNA damages that have to be repaired, cells activate DNA damage checkpoint that arrests cell cycle (G 0 ) where damaged cell can be repaired. These checkpoints consist of G 1 , G 2 and M checkpoint. The checkpoints are surveillance mechanism and control the genome to maintain their condition.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online