Genealogies - Iapetus his sons Prometheus(“Forethought”...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
THE CHIEF GENEALOGIES OF GREEK COSMOGONY ACCORDING TO HESIOD’S THEOGONY 1. Descendants of Chaos : Gaia (Earth) Tartarus (Underworld) Eros (Desire) Erebus (Darkness in Tartarus) Night Descendants of Erebus and Night: Aether (Upper Air), Day 2. Descendants of Gaia : Uranus (Sky) Sea Mountains 3. Children of Gaia and Uranus : 12 Titans (see below) 6 Monsters: 3 Hundredhanders, 3 Cyclopes The Most Important Titans : Oceanus (Ocean) Tethys (a sea goddess) Hyperion (oldest sun god); his son: Helius (later sun god)
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Iapetus; his sons: Prometheus (“Forethought”), Epimetheus (Hindsight”), Atlas Rhea (an earth goddess) Themis (“Law”) Mnemosyne (“Memory”) Cronus (the youngest) Note: Son of Prometheus: Deucalion; son of Deucalion (with his wife Pyrrha): Hellen (ancestor of the Hellenes = Greeks) 4. Children of Cronus and Rhea : Hestia (“Hearth”) Demeter (“People’s Mother”) Hera (“Lady, Mistress”) Hades Poseidon Zeus (youngest)...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 01/23/2012 for the course CLAS 250 taught by Professor Martinwinkler during the Summer '11 term at George Mason.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online