Aed 202 week 3 stages of cognitive development

Aed 202 week 3 stages of cognitive development - In Early...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Stages of Cognitive Development The five developmental periods play an important part in the growth of a child. During Infancy (Birth-2) , a child experiences improvements in hearing and vision. Classification and categorization skills emerge. Early Childhood, ages 2 to 6, is a period during which children begin to have the ability to process information. This is inhibited by their short attention span and limited knowledge base. A multitude of rich experiences should be provided. The ages of 6 to 10 are known as Middle Childhood. Attention span increases and the ability to process abstract and symbolic thought develops. The child's knowledge base continues to expand.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: In Early Adolescence, ages 10 to 14, basic skills in reading and writing have been largely automatized. Attention span has extended to about an hour for the "normal" child. Knowledge bases are becoming well-organized though the disabled child will have had less of an opportunity to explore than the non-disabled child. The fourth stage is called Late Adolescence. During this time the child is from ages 14 to 18. More individual choices are available to the child at these ages. During this stage youths become aware of reasons for learning and gain knowledge of assessing relationships among ideas....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online