{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Russian government

Russian government - serves more of an administrative role...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Where does the government derive its power? The 1993 constitution created a dual executive consisting of a president and prime minister, but the president is the dominant figure. The president determines the basic direction of Russia’s domestic and foreign policy. He also represents the Russian state in foreign affairs. The president has several powers which put him in a position superior of the legislature. He can issue decrees and directives that have the force of law without legislative review, but the constitution states that they cannot oppose that document or other laws. Also, in certain cases the president can dissolve the State Duma. The presidential term is set at four years, and the president may serve only two terms. 50% of the eligible population must vote for the election to be valid. The president appoints the prime minister with consent of the State Duma. The Prime Minister
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: serves more of an administrative role, nominating members of the Cabinet and implementing domestic policy. Russian parliament, called the Federal Assembly, consists of the State Duma (the lower house) and the Federation Council (the upper house). The State Duma is the more powerful of the two; all bills must be first considered by the State Duma. Russia’s judicial system is called the Ministry of Justice. Responsibilities include establishment of courts and the appointment of judges at levels below federal district courts. The 1993 constitution establishes a federal government and enumerates eighty-nine subnational jurisdictions, including twenty-one ethnic enclaves with the status of republics. Moscow and St. Petersburg contain the same status as oblasts. They are independent of surrounding jurisdictions and termed “cities of federal significance”....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online