Pancrea1 - Digestive System Pancreas Pancreatic ducts are...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Digestive System Pancreas * Pancreatic ducts are classified into four types which are discussed here beginning with the terminal branches which extend into acini. * Intercalated ducts receive secretions from acini. They have flattened cuboidal epithelium that extends up into the lumen of the acinus to form what are called centroacinar cells . * Intralobular ducts have a classical cuboidal epithelium and, as the name implies, are seen within lobules. They receive secretions from intercalated ducts. * Interlobular ducts are found between lobules, within the connective tissue septae. They vary considerably in size. The smaller forms have a cuboidal epithelium, while a columnar epithelium lines the larger ducts. Intralobular ducts transmit secretions from intralobular ducts to the major pancreatic duct. * The main pancreatic duct received secretion from interlobular ducts and penetrates through the wall of the duodenum. In some species, including man, the pancreatic duct joins the bile duct prior to entering the intestine. Pancreas
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online