Spermatogenesis - spermatocytes undergo meiosis I(becoming...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Spermatogenesis Spermatogenesis occurs in the seminiferous tubules of the testes and is the process by which sperm are formed. The first stage of spermatogenesis is a mitotic cell division, producing two types of spermatogonia , type A spermatogonia and type B spermatogonia. Type A spermatogonia continue to divide mitotically and maintain the supply of male germ stem cells . Type B spermatogonia, however, differentiate into primary spermatocytes and undergo meiosis. During differentiation, type B spermatogonia migrate towards the lumen of the seminiferous tubules and cross the blood-testis barrier formed by the tight junctions of the sustentacular cells. Primary
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: spermatocytes undergo meiosis I (becoming secondary spermatocytes ) and then meiosis II (resulting in four spermatids ) (see Figure 2). The spermatids develop into mature spermatozoa during the process of spermiogenesis . During spermiogenesis the spermatids discard most of their cytoplasm and grow flagella . Four mature sperm are produced after the successful completion of spermatogenesis and spermiogenesis. A mature sperm is in actuality a vessel for the delivery of the male's genetic material. It consists of an acrosome , a head , the midpiece , and the tail . (See Figure 3) Figure 2 Figure 3...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 01/30/2012 for the course BSC BSC1085 taught by Professor Sharonsimpson during the Fall '10 term at Broward College.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online