{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Plant Structur12 - (the seeds of flowering plants are...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Plant Structures Introduction and Summary The parts of the plant are divided into two basic sections, the root and the shoot. The root is comprised of all the structures below the soil, and the shoot is composed of the structures above. Included in the shoot of seed plants are the stem, the leaves, and the seeds. Additionally, angiosperms contain flowers as part of their shoots. Each of these structures is vital in different ways to the plants existence. The seed, which develops from an ovule after fertilization has occurred, surrounds the plant embryo and protects it from desiccation. Each seed consists of an embryo, food source, and protective outer coat, and can lie dormant for some time before germinating. Angiosperm seeds
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: (the seeds of flowering plants) are contained in protective ovaries (that later become fruit), which help to protect the seeds from drying out and aid in their dispersal. The roots of a plant function in the storage of nutrients, the acquisition of water and minerals (from the soil), and the anchoring of the plant to the substrate. Different plants have different kinds of roots, ranging from a taproot (dicots) to a fibrous root system (monocots) to adventitious roots (vines). Tiny root hairs, which extend from the root surface, provide the plant with a huge total absorptive surface and are responsible for most of the plant's water and mineral intake....
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}