Constitutional Democracy

Constitutional Democracy - Constitutional Democracy The...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Constitutional Democracy The government created by a constitution is best labeled a constitutional democracy. The constitution outlines the way power is legitimately used, whereas limitations on government power creates a democratic system. The American Constitution is divided into seven parts called articles, each dealing with a specific issue. The bulk of the document—Articles I, II, and III—describe the structures and powers of the three branches of the federal government. The table on the following page summarizes the structure of the Constitution. ARTICLES OF THE CONSTITUTION Article Focus I The Legislative Branch II The Executive Branch Separation of Powers The Constitution creates a government with three different branches. This separation of powers ensures that no branch becomes powerful enough to overwhelm the other two. The legislative branch (Congress) makes the laws, the executive branch (the president) enforces the laws, and the judicial branch (the courts) interprets the law. Each branch functions independently from the others, possessing its own
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 01/31/2012 for the course POS POS2112 taught by Professor Leslietaylor during the Winter '09 term at Broward College.

Page1 / 2

Constitutional Democracy - Constitutional Democracy The...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online