Types of Local Government

Types of Local - Types of Local Government States have created a multitude of types of local government In fact there are approximately 84,000

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Types of Local Government States have created a multitude of types of local government. In fact, there are approximately 84,000 local governments in the United States. Each state has the power to define local government in any way it wants, allocating different types and degrees of power and responsibility. For a local government to have power, it must be granted a charter by the state, specifying its powers and responsibilities. Most states grant some degree of autonomy to local governments. This autonomy is known as home rule: a promise by the state government to refrain from interfering in local issues. State governments give up this power because local governments with substantial autonomy can often manage local affairs better than the state government could. Ultimately, however, the state can still take power away from local governments, even those with home rule. Some states have a complicated patchwork of town governments, with villages, townships, counties, and cities all having different powers. The most common—and probably the least known—type of local government is called a
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 01/31/2012 for the course POS POS2112 taught by Professor Leslietaylor during the Winter '09 term at Broward College.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online