Freud, Erikson, Piaget stages of development

Freud, Erikson, Piaget stages of development - Generativity...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Freud’s Psychosexual Stages Oral- Birth to 1 year – Sucking Anal- 1-3 years- Toilet Training Phallic- 3-6 years First notice of genitals, Oedipus/Electra complex Latency- Adolescence – Sexual Impulses appear Erik Erikson’s Psychosocial Stages Trust v Mistrust- Birth- 1 year- Baby must develop trust. Autonomy v Shame- 1-3 years- Children become autonomous. Initiative v Guilt- 3-6 years Responsibility Industry v Inferiority 6-11 years- Learn to produce. Identity v Role confusion – Adolescence- “Who am I?” Intimacy v Isolation- Early Adult- Establish intimate relationships
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Generativity v Stagnation- Adult- Contribution to Next Generations Integry v Despair- Old Age- Reflection, sense of self worth Piaget’s Stages of Cognitive Development Sensorimotor- Birth-2 years- Infants develop through physical senses Preoperational- 2-7 years- use symbols, make believe, lack knowledge Concrete Operational- 7-11 years- More logical thinking, but not abstract Formal Operational 11+ Abstract and advanced thinking...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 02/07/2012 for the course PSY 105 taught by Professor Hamilton during the Spring '11 term at Moraine Valley Community College.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online